top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

God Only Knows, The Beach Boys, 1966


This song is so very special. It's one of the few songs that actually has a calming effect on me. I'm not a huge Beach Boys fan and when I listen to them it's usually because I'm leaning into an upbeat, positive mood. Surf music, right? It's a party. This song, though, when it loops in my brain, it's because I need to self-soothe. I'm not surprised at all that it's in my brain this morning.


God Only Knows is consistently listed as one of the greatest songs of all time. I find that so interesting. It is a beautifully profound and uniquely intricate song and yet it is such an easy listen. You know what I mean? I think it's so weird how this song  comforts me even though the lyrics are pretty desperate and dark. Maybe part of its appeal is its orchestrated duality. How can something be so complex and yet so simple?


Oh Monday, please be kind -- I'm fragile.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page