top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Naked Eye, Luscious Jackson, 1996


When I think about iconic songs from my 20s, this one makes that list every single time. Naked Eye is a staple on the actual playlist that serves as the soundtrack of my life and it has been since first listen. The world stops for me when this song is playing.


Some songs are just cool. Right? This is one of the coolest songs I ever met. I love the dance beat track. I love the harmony in rounds. Most of all, I love the lyrics and the delivery cadence -- it's like spoken word/poetry but is not rap-like. This is a deep song that melds genres. It felt so fresh and futuristic in the waning days of what is labeled as the grunge era. It still feels that way to me. It's just cool.


Seeing that Luscious Jackson founding member, Vivian Trimble, died yesterday at 59 from cancer was pretty jarring. When you're young, 59 sounds so old but when you're old, 59 sounds so young. Thoughts of mortality, dealing with the unpleasant challenges of life, and fear of things beyond my control made for a debilitating Good Friday. Today will be better.


"Wearing nothing is divine. Naked is a state of mind."



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page