top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Paul Revere, Beastie Boys, 1986


I was listening to License to Ill front-to-back for the first time in forever and was really feeling it like I did at first listen back in the 80s. The powerful subtle melding of genres is pure greatness. The track flow is pretty perfect, too -- it's downright groundbreaking art, y'all. The way each song builds upon the last to seamlessly create a unique world made me think of my world from the late 1980s. Riding around with my friends just being young ... ahh -- not a care in the world.


Lately, I can't help but wonder how rising generations will discover great music from the past. Do current 15-year-olds even know the Beastie Boys? It makes me sad that physical media has disappeared. Listening to that cassette non-stop on a constant loop for months was everything. Good times.


This album is pure, youthful joy for me. Yeah. Listening to it yesterday, I was taken by its lyrical integrity and kept thinking about the sick beats. Yeah. Then I got tickled at myself for Taylorfying the Beastie Boys. Wow. I could seriously lose my 80s card over that one.


Happy Saturday!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page