top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Heaven or Las Vegas, Cocteau Twins, 1990


I had a great Sunday, y'all. Music is my self-care and this song is what self-care sounded like yesterday. My youngest son turned 28 this past Wednesday -- he's a big Cocteau Twins fan. Thanks to him, I've rediscovered their music and enjoying it even more now than I did when it first came out. Who's a fan?


Real talk -- it's so difficult for me to truly internalize that self-care isn't being selfish. I know it makes perfect sense but it's in stark contrast to everything I've ever known. In theory, I am so on board with it, though. Trust me, I'm exhausted. After a lifetime of being a people-pleasing machine 24-7, I really, really, really need me time. Most days, though, I don't even know what that means. 


I'm finally figuring out how to do what I want to do. I know it's surprising but as it turns out, I am capable of escaping other people's expectations. If I want to go to the movies and listen to music all day instead of obligatory chores, errands, and engagements -- I'm allowed. I'm still working on the guilt part.


So ready for this Monica Monday.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page