top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Chains of Love, Erasure, 1988


Even after 35 years, I still find this song completely exhilarating. I absolutely love this song (see me jumping up and down?) -- it continues to serve me well. It's a song of hope. This girl needs all the hope she can get. Hope that people can change. Hope that love conquers all. The thing I love most about this song is how hope isn't relegated to the role of passive yearning -- hope is an active agent of change. This song is a call to make hope a reality. It is an atypical love song. That really appeals to me because I have atypical loves in my life.


Now is probably a good time to come clean and admit I'm not a huge Depeche Mode fan. I'm not not a fan, I'm just very lukewarm when it comes to the Brit new wave syth pop gods. I am at best a token surface-level fan. Even as I write this, I get a little excited thinking about how Depeche Mode is virtually unexplored territory for me. I know I've kept the band in my pocket for more than three decades now just waiting for the right time to launch a thorough investigation. Maybe today is the day. Carpe diem and what not.


Happy Saturday!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page