top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Lose Control, Missy Elliott, 2005


I never met a Missy Elliott track I didn't love. Listening to Missy now takes me back to one of the happiest times of my life. Ahhh -- the late 90s and early 2000s. A time of my life filled with new beginnings, beautiful naiveté, and the gullible joy of young adulthood. Music was fun again, too. Enter Missy -- brilliant, groundbreaking mastermind out front and behind the scenes. Absolute visionary.


I watched the 2022 docuseries, Women Who Rock, the other night and enjoyed it a whole bunch. It did a decent job of highlighting some talented women in music of all genres going back to Mavis Staples. Although it was spotty and questionable with its choices for extended focus, I was happy to see Missy Elliott get more than a mention. You know, I hate that she's drawing disrespect over her rock hall nomination. Y'all. Missy would break the rock hall.


Happy Saturday. Misdemeanor said so.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page