top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Call Me When You're Sober, Evanescence, 2006


How old are you in your head? One of my favorite journalists posed this question recently on Twitter and I can't stop thinking about it. 


On top of that, I've had Amy Lee's mesmerizing voice stuck in my head for days. I haven't thought about this song in years but yeah, it makes sense that I'm hearing it this morning -- call me when you're sober.


I love how Amy's beautiful voice is so heavy with unwavering anger in this song. She's dug in and there will be no exceptions. How old am I in my head? I'm finally old enough to have the courage to  change my mind. Digging in and staying the course can be toxic. I love the chorus of this song, though -- having the maturity to truly recognize a truth and being prepared to move on is how old I am in my head.


For the past 20 years or so, my very best friends have all been older. Yet, on the whole, I continue to feel more connected with younger culture or those with naturally youthful spirits. I've never had much of a sense for age. Defining someone by their age is such a restrictive trap. In my head, I've decided I'm a solid 35-40. Looking in the mirror tells me I'm an old lady, though, and that's super sobering.








7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page