top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Machinehead, Bush, 1994


I saw Bush at the Ryman this past week and my 90s-lovin heart was overjoyed. Wow. I knew I had missed live music but I had no idea how much until Monday night. Quite frankly, it was the most fun I've had at a concert since I was in my 20s. It was easy. It was a celebration. It was like falling in love for the first time. Pure ecstasy. That's the power of music.


As I reflect, I can't help but think my super positive experience had a lot to do with nostalgia topped off with an overwhelming sense of gratitude sprinkled with the comfort of generational solidarity. Do you know what I mean? It was like an all-encompassing sense of belonging and empowerment. It was like this beautiful convergence of the past, present, and future en masse. Thank you, Gavin.


Breathe out. It's a first, but I'm feeling thankful for being old and I'm reveling in the life experiences I've had thus far. I'm truly possessing it all. Hello, freedom. I am forever a rockstar.


Happy Saturday!





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page