top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Help Me Make It Through the Night, Kris Kristofferson, 1970


Listen. Do you hear that magic? Yeah you do. This is one of the most perfect songs ever written and I never tire of it.


Prepare yourself for another bold statement: I've never heard a version of this song that I don't like. And oh my goodness -- there are so so so many versions of this song out there. They're all so very different but regardless of the tempo or genre, it never disappoints -- it's just a great/magical song.


I love every single lyric no matter the vessel. I love that Kris Kristofferson wrote this story. Seriously, Kristofferson, y'all. It was considered quite provocative back in the day, too. Don't ya know.


I could spend hours listening to the many many many versions of this song. The Norah Jones version is probably my current favorite.


Speaking of versions of this song, Alecia Elliott Fisher did a version once and it just rips me apart. I adore her as both a person and an artist -- she's doing a set at a local spot tonight. Sweet Shoals sister. Man, those pipes. She truly loves to sing.


2017 Alecia Elliott Fisher cover



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page