top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Hurt, Nine Inch Nails, 1995


It's true, Johnny Cash's cover of Nine Inch Nails' Hurt is phenomenal. Not only is it so unexpected, it's a case of the entire meaning of a song changing because of who's singing it. Seriously, it's one of a kind. I get it. I love it. I'm super glad it exists.


I hate when people say Cash's cover is better than the original, though. I always wonder if those people have ever even heard the original. I just don't think Cash's version is better -- it's different and great in its own right but better? Nah. It's just not. Trent Reznor wrote the song. It's his. That's an undeniable power.


Those Hurt conversations always make me think of how we change as we age. Being old now puts me in a position where I can still relate to Trent's original poem but I can also relate to Cash's farewell. Life is such a funny thing.


Happy Monday, maybe?



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page