top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

I Can't Make You Love Me, Bonnie Raitt, 1991


This song always makes me cry. Sometimes I need to cry. Sometimes it takes the right song to tap into the bottled up emotions we have deep inside. This is always that right song for me. It tells my story from both perspectives -- unrequited love and the inability to love. My my my. Thank goodness for Bonnie Raitt. Can I get an amen?


Bonnie Raitt is an artist who showed me way back in 1989 that being who I am means not fitting into a neat little box. She keeps teaching me life lessons to this day about how strength lies in honesty and in the courage of expression.


I'm a lot of things but being overly sentimental or openly emotional isn't one of those things. I once wore that badge with pride because it was ingrained in me that showing emotion was a sign of weakness. With age comes wisdom and now I know better. Those days are over.


Now, go listen to some Bonnie and maybe even have a good cry. Happy Saturday!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page