top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day

Updated: May 19, 2021

Born to Die, Lana Del Rey, 2012


One of my OG student workers visited me at work yesterday. It was so good to see her smiling face. I enjoyed hearing about things of note that have happened in her life since graduating. It’s only been about 18 months since I’ve seen her but we talked like old friends who had been out of touch for years and years.


I came away from the visit with mixed emotions and feeling a bit heavy … you never know the influence you have on others, my friends. She and I worked a lot of school events together during her time at UNA. We had amazing conversations – most of which were either about life or music.


One night we were working a show and she was stressed about something going on with school and I told her, “we’re all born to die but try to have fun in the meantime.” It’s a sort of quote from the Lana Del Rey song, Born to Die, and it’s pretty much been my mantra since the first time I heard it. She said those words and that conversation about keeping things in perspective changed her life. That whole – life is short cliche mixed with holy wow, what’s the use of being stressed and miserable the whole time you’re on the planet? What really matters? Joy is everything.


Hmm. Sometimes people listen to me. Heavy.


I love this song. Great song. Great album of the same name. Truest most simple adage ever – we are Born to Die.


https://youtu.be/Bag1gUxuU0g


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page