top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Bonesaw, Devora, 2023


Open up wide -- here's a little dose of goth country/outlaw pop this Monday morning. That's right. You heard me.


Yeah, don't feel bad. I only recently discovered that it's a thing, too. As per usual, I scoffed slightly at the thought of goth country and/or outlaw anything before opening my mind and letting my curiosity win. Now, I'm firmly on board and can't get enough.


This artist, Devora, has me once again shaking my head over the need to unnecessarily categorize music and put it into these neat little genre boxes, though. It makes no sense. Pretty ridiculous. Just let music be, y'all. It doesn't have to be micro-defined.


Devora sounds a little like Liz Phair to me. Her music has a 90s rebellious female folk rock alternative feel and I'm here for that. I like how the "country goth" label represents more of a look and vibe than its actual sound.

Give it a chance. Now go take on the world, you outlaw.


Happy Monday!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page