top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Torn Curtain, Television, 1977


I'm sick over Tom Verlaine's death. I was just six years old when Marquee Moon came out. I think I was probably 12 or 13 the first time I heard it. It is one of the most perfect albums ever made. Still. Forever.


I am probably the only person in the world who doesn't go crazy over the song Marquee Moon, though. Torn Curtain is my favorite Television song. I absolutely love the guitar and how it tells the story -- the rest of the band simply serves the guitar by playing backup. Lyrically speaking, Tom is extra dramatic with his enunciation and delivery, too. It always makes me think he's talking about the great and powerful Oz.


Tom being gone made for a heavy and nostalgic Sunday for sure. The news sent me down a rabbit hole pondering a personalized version of that age-old question of: Which came first? For the life of me, I can't remember for sure but I think I must have loved R.E.M. first, then Television.

Well, happy Monday. Time for another play.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page