top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

$20, boygenius, 2023


Let's talk about disappointment. Or, maybe, this is a more gentle narrative -- let's talk about managing expectations. I hate it when I'm all Beavis-level excited for new music then end up being undeniably Daria-level "meh" at first listen. Sure, it happens but it never ever feels good.


So ... have y'all listened to the three singles boygenius released last week teasing a new album coming at the end of March? I like $20 a lot (not love) but the other two, True Blue and Emily I'm Sorry, are so lackluster. Someone please disagree with me. I want to be on fire for this trio's triad of teaser songs but I'm just not. It happens, right? Disappointment.


Hey, wait, maybe I need to walk this back a step for my contemporaries. Has everyone at least heard of boygenius? You know? boygenius -- the Phoebe Bridgers, Julien Baker, Lucy Dacus collab/21st century version of a super group. Look them up -- the previous EP was super good. Really, I promise. Don't forget: It's OK to try new things/music and it's OK to not like it all.


Happy Saturday!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page