top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Kill Bill, SZA, 2022


So, yeah. This song speaks to me and I'm not going to overthink what that says about me. I'm so mature. I'm so mature.


This is my favorite type of song -- it's good on the surface and it's even better when you peel back the layers. It's a classic misdirect. Ahh. Such is life. SZA has such a sweet tone and the melody is so upbeat but then, you have the dark and ahem, murderous, lyrics.


I'm so basic but I really like the simple structure of this song. It has a quick, quick, step vibe to me. There's the sweet spoken cadence of the verses wrapped in SZA's angelic singing on the chorus. Plus, it tells a complete, albeit tragic, story. She did it all for love, though, so there's that. Watch the video for a nice Tarantino homage.


I just love SZA, y'all. One of my favorite artists from the past 10 years or so ... leading that neo-soul charge. Yes, it's SZA just like RZA.


Happy Saturday!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page