top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Frayed Ends of Sanity, Metallica, 1988


If you know me, then you know -- I'm a huge Metallica fan and have been since day one. Along with R.E.M., Metallica is my 40-year love affair. It's not surprising that it's this song welcoming my sleep-deprived ass to this glorious Saturday pre-dawn.


As per my usual (preferred) Friday night routine these days -- I was sitting on the couch coming down from an especially hectic week at work thinking about everything that's on my docket this long weekend when this question entered my brain, "where's my notebook?" I subconsciously reached out to the coffee table in front of me and couldn't help but laugh at myself because there were three notebooks there to grab and one on the floor beneath. There it is, the exact moment that this song started playing in my brain. Nice.


I'm actually thankful to have this song remind me this morning how Metallica's "And Justice For All" is a masterful magnum opus. You may think you don't like metal and that's OK but I challenge you to at least read the lyrics to pretty much any Metallica song -- you can start with this one. Again, I don't understand it but I say it's fine if you profess to not like metal music but I say it's impossible to not respect the pure poetic artistry of Metallica's social commentary.


PS: Kirk Hammett is one of my guitar god soulmates.


Happy Saturday, y'all!



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page