top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Down By the Water, PJ Harvey, 1995


So, that's weird -- I just woke from a dream where I was painting Jason Isbell's fingernails red and PJ Harvey's Down By the Water is all in my head right now. Well, on second thought, maybe it's not all that weird. I did listen to a lot of The Civil Wars this weekend and that led to me thinking about how Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires are the reigning first couple of Americana. I also binged a lot of Peaky Blinders. Yeah. This Monday morning welcome to the conscious world actually makes perfect sense.


I love this song. Is it even possible to not love this song -- is it even possible to not love PJ Harvey? Odds are, you know someone who worships her and rightly so. For females of a certain age, having gone through a PJ Harvey stage is like a right of passage. The good thing is, she's a brilliant artist and her music makes the world a better place. Sure, this is one of her more mainstream tunes but that doesn't make it less phenomenal -- it's actually a bit of a subtle icon hiding in the shadows.


What a really nice weekend. I'm really enjoying this new me that's immune to the pressures of people pleasing. I'm still not a Monday fan but alas, here we go again.


Happy Monday!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page