top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

I Had Me a Girl, The Civil Wars, 2013


Oh, y'all, can we just talk about The Civil Wars? Thinking about the short-lived, ill-fated absolutely magical four-time Grammy-winning duo of Joy Williams and John Paul White gives me pause. Their creative energy and chemistry always felt explosive and a little impossible -- I wasn't surprised when they imploded after only six years. I can't help but think about Icarus or the crossroads, even. Their perfection tempted fate. It felt too good to be true. I'm so grateful for the art they created together but I kind of love how The Civil Wars ceased to exist with such drama and mystery at the height of their success. Lore-worthy ... team JPW all the way, btw.


This song is everything to me. I listen to it way too much. It sounds like a storm. It feels like a storm. It cuts through me and sweeps me away. I would be content to drown in JPW's subtle, masterful siren vibrato for eternity. Put that on my tombstone.


Speaking of JPW, he's a University of North Alabama graduate, ya know, and has been teaching songwriting and such in our Department of Entertainment Industry for the past few years or so. How cool is that? He also has a philanthropic heart and raises money for his endowed (UNA) scholarship via a Shoals concert each year. He's nice, too -- I have never heard anyone say a negative word about him. Although he's actually from Loretto, Tenn., he's a Shoals native through and through -- we expanded the qualifying radius just for him. Yeah, he's just that special. Yes, he really does walk on water.


Listen to The Civil Wars and all of JPW's Catalog. You're welcome and happy Saturday!



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page