top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground, 1981, Willie Nelson


During my 24-hour post-vaccine stupor, this song kept looping in my semi-conscious brain. It kind of makes sense ... after all, the song is about how life is so precarious.


I'm not a big country music fan at all but Willie Nelson has that odd iconic status with me that transcends genres. I was just a kid -- probably nine or so -- when I first heard and admittedly mocked Willie Nelson. His singing voice is just so weird -- kind of Muppety. Lord, my brother and I brutally mocked On the Road Again while country music radio stations held us hostage during family road trips.


Then, Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground came into my life. It's a beautiful story constructed by a masterful storyteller. This song stays with me as years go by. I am forever amazed by how taken individually, both the words and the music can stand alone as brilliant creations. Together, they craft a perfect story and sentiment. It's a poignant progression with highs and lows.


This song is timeless.


https://youtu.be/3_cEMvRwyRE


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page