top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day 2

Updated: Mar 12, 2021

It's a "snow day" here in the Deep South and I have a follow-up to my "Song of the Day" post -- Eric Clapton, Cocaine.


I preface this by saying, this is not a political post ... I'm curious, though, if one of your favorite artist's personal actions or beliefs have affected your fandom.


A year or so ago, I became fascinated with Sarfraz Manzoor. He's the author of Greetings From Bury Park which was adapted into the movie, Blinded By The Light. Sure, it's the story of Pakistani boy in the UK discovering Springsteen but it is also the story of racism and discrimination. The thing about Manzoor is, he's a longtime working journalist. I'm obsessed with his Twitter and his posts from the UK help me relate to how the world sees our country.

Back in the summer when racial injustice was at the forefront of our conversations seemingly for the first time since the Civil Rights Movement, Manzoor posted this 2008 article he did for The Guardian which is on the surface about Rock Against Racism.


It's a long read but it's a great read.

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2008/apr/20/popandrock.race


I'm a little ashamed to say, at this point in my fandom, there is most likely nothing Clapton could do to turn me against him.

Thoughts?


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page