top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Someday at Christmas, Lizzo, 2022


Have I mentioned that I'm not a fan of the holiday season? I absolutely detest the unrealistic social and financial expectations but I seriously love Christmas music, y'all. It's probably not what you think, though -- Christmas music to me extends beyond most of those tired classics you've heard over and over. The challenge for me each year is to find those new or obscure Christmas songs and covers to add to my non-traditional playlist. Granted, this one was handed to me on a silver platter yesterday as I binged the latest season of Saturday Night Live.


This is such a great song full of really powerful and poignant lyrics of hope. There's no shortage of covers of this Stevie Wonder classic but Lizzo really breathes new life into it. A little wave of sadness is creeping over me as I think about the timelessness of these lyrics. It's a shame that these lyrics are as relevant today as they were in 1967. Sit with these words for a minute.


Beautiful, beautiful song. Complex and deep and yet, so simple.


Happy Monday!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page