top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Rock 'n' Roll Lifestyle, Cake, 1993


Surprise! This song is about me. All my favorite songs are about me, it's why I love them. Duh. It's fascinating how our favorite songs evolve with us. This song hits different for me now than it did the first time I heard it almost 30 years ago. Bless Cake for seeing those stereotypical poser people back in the day and writing this song. In 2022, though, this song rings way too literal for me. It's hard out here for a single person. Yeah, I'm independent and I wouldn't have it any other way but financially speaking, there's no possibility of a rock 'n' Roll lifestyle for me. It hurts bad.


Do you remembet the first time you heard Cake? I'm pretty sure this song was it for me. I think this is actually a perfect introductory song to Cake -- it's a great representation of everything weirdly quirky cool about Cake but it's easy. You know? It's like starting out in the kiddie pool before jumping in the deep end. It's slow and easy -- it gives you time to adjust. Time to accept that, yes, the weirdness is indeed actually happening and it's OK. It's more than OK, it's fabulous. It's Cake.


Happy Saturday, y'all!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page