top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Vision of Division, The Strokes, 2005


Ahh ... The Strokes. Ahh ... Julian Casablancas. Love the band and love him ... and super love this song. For the most part, I get lucky with my earworms because they're songs like this -- ones I love -- ones in heavy rotation as part of the soundtrack/playlist of my life. I love the opening round of guitar and drums in this song -- it's so frantic and urgent -- it builds the momentum/excitement -- then when Julian starts out so buttery in the low octave only to give way to his desperate plea, it's absolutely brilliant, emotional storytelling.


Since starting counseling back in the spring, even though I know it's a false construct, sometimes I find myself wondering about "normal" behavior. For example, is it normal to pretty much always have an earworm? When I had my mid-sleep cycle bathroom break last night -- this song was so prominent in my brain that I almost couldn't go back to sleep. What does it mean? Is that normal?


The universe is obviously trying to tell me something. Damn. It's true ... all that I do is wait for you. How long must I wait?!

Happy Saturday, y'all!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page