top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Got Me Wrong, Alice in Chains, 1992


I don't have a great track record when it comes to making decisions. This half century of my life so far is filled to the brim with "following my heart" decisions which haven't yielded a high return of financial success for sure. Yesterday, I said "no" to my heart. It doesn't happen often and it made me sick to do it but I think it's the right thing to do. Hell. Who am I fooling? I'm winging it with this life thing ... but aren't we all? I regretted my decision almost immediately but I'm sticking to it -- it's what I do -- double down.


I've listened to a whole bunch of Alice in Chains this week. I woke up with a nice AIC medley of sorts rolling around in my brain. Surprisingly, Got Me Wrong is front and center. What's up with that, psyche? I like it fine but it's nowhere close to being in my top 10 favorite AIC songs. Y'all, Jerry Cantrell doesn't get the credit or respect he deserves. He's so impressive, an authentic artist -- especially as a songwriter.


The AIC Mtv unplugged is so powerful ... seeing Jerry and Layne's relationship at that point is so ... heavy. Do you remember? Look it up. I know what I'm watching today while working on a paper.


Happy Saturday!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page