top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Little Lilly, Widespread Panic, 2001


In the early 2000s, I was so fortunate to share a workspace with an amazing wunderkind. Other than my children, it was the first time I had spent a big chunk of time with someone from a younger generation ...


My friend, Kelli, taught me so much about life and about music. Sure, her intellect is beyond compare but it's her free spirit that made the biggest impact on me. Well, the second biggest impact behind her diverse taste in music.


Until I met Kelli, I didn't fully understand the essence of a jam band. The first time I heard Widespread Panic was in that office with Kelli. The first time I heard Don't Tell the Band, I was hooked. The first time I heard Little Lilly, I adopted it as my own.


These lyrics are everything -- pure poetry. A day rarely passes that I don't think of a passage in this song in relation to something that's happening in my life. This is the song I hear in my head most often.


Dance like no one is watching.


(Yesterday I got my second dose of vaccine and had a rough, restless night. Asking for good vibes as I do nothing today.)


https://youtu.be/DS_US4BnC2w


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page