top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Rockafeller Skank, Fatboy Slim, 1998


Right about now, I'm wishing I had a hot cup of coffee in my hand but sadly, I do not. The envigorating nectar of the gods eludes me this morning because of a pretty widespread power outage in my hometown but at least the situation has planted my morning's earworm -- hello, Rockafeller Skank. I do totally dig you.


This song is synonymous with a few things for me. First of all, I hear it and I automatically think of the party group (choreographed) dance scene in She's All That. Ahhh ... She's All That -- thinking about that movie makes me think of Freddie Prinze Jr. It's so weird, I took a vacation/mental health day yesterday and binged more than a few cheesy holiday movies. One of which was a new one on Netflix starring, you guessed it -- Freddie Prinze Jr. Funny. Other than thinking of him as Mr. Sarah Michelle Gellar, I hadn't thought of him in years until now.


This song also makes me think of Derry Girls and I'm immediately filled with joy. If you know, you know.


Wow. Does this song define both an era and a genre? Hmmm.


Hunkering down under a mound of covers now. Wishing I had charged my phone ...


Happy Saturday!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page