top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Blue Jean Blues, ZZ Top, 1975


Holy mercy how I love this song. That little old band from Texas does blues in a deep, dirty, rocking way that completely fills my soul. It blows my mind to think about how the same three guys made music together for 50 years ... that's an entire life of making music together. PS: If you haven't seen the documentary, do it.


As a child of the 80s, I have a soft spot for radio-friendly, iconic ZZ Top (branded) tunes but they can't come close to holding a candle to ZZ Top of the 70s. The band's catalog is just so deep, y'all. Oddly enough, with 15 albums spanning four decades, the majority of the music is super good.


I'm so envious -- my colleague is going to see ZZ Top tonight. Yeah, I know the circle is broken, but it'll still be a blast. A gathering of like-minded music connoisseurs of sorts ... sounds like heaven.


Speaking of great taste in music, just saw where one of my longtime (secret) crushes is getting married. Yep. Thank you, social media, for crushing my (secret) fairytale dream. 😁


Happy Saturday!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page