top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

I'll Be, Edwin McCain, 1998


This is one of the most perfect songs ever written. It's pretty straightforward as a touching love song but I tell you, it's so much more. I know, I know, it has that unremarkable 90s sound but the lyrics and tone more than make up for that shortcoming. These lyrics, y'all. I'll Be is one of my most favorite poems ever written. All of them -- ALL THE LYRICS -- some of my all-time favorite lines ever.


I've listened to this song a lot this week and it has me thinking about choices. I'll be ... what will I be? Definitely not what I intended all those years ago as a young adult. Starting over on my own was my choice so many years ago. Starting over with my career a few years back was my choice, too. Hell, this song makes me think about life choices, not necessarily love. I want to be the greatest fan of my life.


Will I be better when I'm older because I'm older now and waiting.


Happy Saturday!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page