top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Oh My Heart, R.E.M., 2011


Wow. New music Friday was pretty phenomenal, y'all. I can't get enough of three new releases (can you guess which three?) and I still have several more on my "to listen" to-do list for today. You know what, though? As excited as I get over new music, I am so appreciative of my precious loves who never fail me.


My feelings about music make me think of that old adage about friends: Make new friends but keep the old, one is silver and the other is gold ... R.E.M. is my golden lifelong friend. Although it's more than 10 years old, I consider this song to be "new" R.E.M. isn't it funny? I can remember when the Collapse Into Now album came out (PS: new music dropped on Tuesdays back then) -- just like all R.E.M. fans, I was so excited but I knew the album was a bittersweet parting gift.


I can't believe how connected I am to this song ... I can't believe how important it is to me in my daily walk. I can't believe after loving R.E.M. for more than 40 years that a song from their final album rose to the ranks of my favorite songs. Now that's impressive. That's why I will always listen to new music.


Happy Saturday, y'all!





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page