top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Tame, Pixies, 1989


Every nanosecond of this song is my lifeblood. If you know me, odds are I've uttered these lyrics to you at some point in time. Yeah. Ahhh ... the lyrics. With just a handful of carefully curated poignant lyrics enhanced by masterfully orchestrated sounds and nuances, Tame awakens a full range of emotions in me. Yeah. Every time. Tame is a very special constant in my life -- a "snap out of it" mantra of sorts -- but truthfully, it's only slightly elevated amongst Pixies (trifecta album) songs.


Speaking of the trifecta -- it is impossible to top the Pixies trifecta of Surfer Rosa, Doolittle, and Bossanova. Listen, I'm a Pixies mega fan for life. I will always be excited for a new album. I will always add said new album to my collection. I'm the first to admit these most recent albums, though, just don't hit the same ... and that's OK. I'm older. They're older. Kim's absent ...


Thanks to my friend, Jay, I saw the Pixies when Kim Deal was still around. I also saw them a few years back with Paz. Pixies gonna pixie.

Happy Saturday!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page