top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Pale Blue Eyes, The Velvet Underground, 1969


There's more than one way to do things ... there's more than one way to do things well. This song is the perfect example of the beauty of interpretation. I'm not a massive Lou Reed/The Velvet Underground fan ... this song found me via Michael Stipe. God I love R.E.M. Then, Courtney started covering it with Hole routinely after Kurt died -- her version is what really moves me time and time again and settles in my soul. Look it up.


It's super upsetting to think about how so much of my life has revolved around work. Is life really meant to be spent this way? Is a job -- is a means to physical survival -- worthy of so much of my time? Is it about spinning wheels to amass stuff? I know that is not the meaning of life but how can it be walked back once we're swept away? Hmm ... ugh.


The meaning of life is hidden behind those pale blue eyes and I'm waiting -- come find me.


Happy Monday!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page