top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Please Do Not Go, Violent Femmes, 1983


Listening to the Violent Femmes makes me feel 17 again. Huge fan. I tend to romanticize my past and only remember the good. This song conjures all the good from my pre-adulting years and just fills me with joy and youthful energy. Yeah, it's not necessarily a happy song but I love it so much that I get butterflies.


I've held too tightly to too many things for way too long. Yet, I also have that gnawing feeling of knowing I didn't hold tightly enough. Ahh. Such is life. It's done. The past is gone. The future is unwritten. There is only the now.


Hear that? Yeah. That's the sound of a door closing. After going on five years and almost a year of counseling, the sweet comfort of acceptance is my new best friend. Y'all. There's no going backward -- there's no recapturing the joy of the past ... I will never be what I was -- I'm finally OK with that.


Happy Saturday!



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page