top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: May 19, 2021

Pretty Vacant, Sex Pistols, 1977


I was maybe 14 or 15 when the Sex Pistols found me. It was my first year at a new school and I had a very small circle of friends, none of whom were in Chemistry class with me. Plus, I was the only sophomore in this upper level class of mostly seniors.


I can't for the life of me remember details of the where and why but, we went on a class field trip. During the bus ride to wherever we were going, I sat with one of the most glorious platinum blonde creatures I've ever encountered in my life. She had a Walkman and was listening to the Sex Pistols. She let me listen, too, and completely schooled me on punk that day. She told me the tragic, disturbing story of punk rock's heroin-addled Romeo and Juliet -- Sid and Nancy.


At the end of the day, I stepped back into my very (Southern) small town (sheltered) bubble but I was forever changed. Life was never the same -- I realized I was born with the undeniable heart and soul of a rebellious anarchist. My lifelong fascination with John Simon Ritchie was born that day, too. I am forever obsessed with the iconic trainwreck that was Sid Vicious.


https://youtu.be/rfSDRw8b5yc


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page