top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Black No. 1, Type O Negative, 1993


There's a chill in the air ... I know, I know, we're not quite there, yet, but fall is knock knock knocking on the door.


This song has been stuck in my head for days. I think it's there because of a perfect storm. Yeah, sure, the weather beginning to turn has me thinking about the most wonderful time of the year but my roots have literally been showing for weeks. That's one of my favorite lines from this song ... "you can't go out cause your roots are showing." It's hard to resist dyeing them black, y'all.


I love this song. It's an entire vibe. It encapsulates all the spooky yet lighthearted fun I associate with Halloween. It's an homage of sorts to the call of the season of the witch. It's a celebration of the ones who embody the season year round. It's all about the mystique and swagger that comes with being that person. It's the ironic humor that lurks under the surface of being something you're not in an effort to be both accepted and unique. For me, this song is all about the constant struggle to be a nice person -- to suppress my true nature.


My ex loves this song. It makes me smile ... I am in love with myself. Boo Bitch Craft. I don't doubt that loving me was indeed like loving the dead.


Happy Saturday!




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page