top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Comfortably Numb, Pink Floyd, 1979


One morning this week -- Wednesday, maybe -- this was the song playing in my car as I arrived at work. Ahhh, Comfortably Numb. Yeah. It's been soothing me ever since. One of the most perfect songs ever. I don't remember life without this song ...


When I collapsed on the couch after work yesterday, I closed my eyes and just let this song fill me up. Granted, I was too tired to even get up and put on the album at that point but it wasn't even necessary because I was the song's vessel. I just sat there in silence being rocked and cradled by the song in my head. It was an unprecented earworm moment. I was grateful for how my psyche used the power of music to automate my self-preservation mode. It's completely cosmic how our favorite songs live within us -- they're part of who we are.


It's funny, the experience triggered a memory and a scene that has haunted me for 35 finally made sense. The beauty from ashes of the human experience ... the perfect pursuit of being comfortably numb.


Happy Saturday!




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page