top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: May 19, 2021

Where is My Mind, Pixies, 1988


When the movie Fight Club blew up in the late 1990's, it led to a renewed interest in the Pixies due to Where Is My Mind being so famously used in the closing credits of the movie. Granted, it was an absolutely brilliant pairing of a film's closing sentiment expressed in a song.


On the one hand, it was nice to see such a great band flirting with a bit of mainstream success after so many years. But, the surface success brought out the music snob in me. It was the second time I felt protective and arrogant toward "new" fans of a band who I didn't think were worthy and definitely didn't qualify as "true fans." It was kind of like how we stereotypically feel toward a fairweather friend or someone who jumps on the bandwagon for a team that's winning. (BTW, the first time I had this reaction was when R.E.M.'s Losing My Religion launched them into the mainstream after pretty much a decade of making great music.)


Am I alone in feeling fan arrogance toward the sudden "success" of longtime favorite bands/artists? Is there a right way to be a "true fan?"


https://youtu.be/I_aBmrYChfQ


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page