top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Don't Fall in Love with a Dreamer, Kenny Rogers & Kim Carnes, 1980


This past week, I had to make the difficult decision to trade my car in on something new. Yeah. Wow. There's nothing like a new car to make you feel super old apparently. I love new technology and I make an effort to stay current but it has taken me a beat to get used to this vehicle ... it's ridiculously communicative and a bit too domineering for me.


The audio/entertainment system is still kind of blowing my mind and it just seems ... umm ... too much. The default for my "car audio entertainment" right now is -- it streams my favorite playlist. I'm not mad at that. This playlist is a glorious representation of the amalgam that is my musical tastes. It's all my favorite songs -- I've been building/adding to it for more than 10 years now. When I worked second shift as a copy editor, my "today" playlist helped me make it through many a tough night. It's been really nice having it around this week -- it's like my personal radio station.


When this song came on yesterday morning, it gave me pause. Holy moly, I love this song. I hadn't thought about it in years, though. I sang my heart out -- both parts. I almost cried. All hail the early 1980s and the great Kenny Rogers. I love this song so much. The lyrics are just perfect. How great is a really profound duet, y'all? Kim Carnes! This song has one of my all-time favorite verses ... wanna guess which one?


PS: Challenge accepted -- I'll be glad to fall in love with a dreamer.





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page