top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Same Old Love, Selena Gomez, 2015


I love Selena Gomez. I love this song -- I'm using it to inspire me to take some baby steps toward opening some doors. (Watch OMITB, y'all.)


Here's the thing, I am 51 years old and I have never dated. It's true. From the time I was 6 until I got married at 19, I always had a steady boyfriend but never dated around. Then, I was married for 17 years ... I've been happily single/independent for the past 15 years. I've considered this long stretch without a significant other as my much needed "me phase."


I've recently been dubbed a "ghost" by a former friend who apparently thought we were more than friends unbeknownst to me ... to him I say, "thank you." I'm finally feeling (a little) ready for a new phase. I'm curious about maybe trying to figure out how to build something with someone that IS more than friends.


But ... I am sick of that same old love. I'm done being passive and just going along with whatever. Something new has to suit me ... it has to edify me.


We'll see. Tall orders indeed.


PS: Yesterday someone told me I look good for my age. Ugh. Getting old is challenging.


Happy Saturday!




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page