top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Cars, Gary Numan, 1979


Here it is ... what I think is the most iconic synth song ever -- Cars. I can thank my next door co-worker for planting the Cars seed with me this week. I'm not mad. Thank you.


I love this song -- I love that it's still around a little. It's weird and quirky and full of cool 80s inflated new wave bravado. It transports me to the days of being at the skating rink with my friends. It transports me to rainy summer days spent inside watching Mtv all day. This video was such a mainstay in those early days of Mtv and I'm so grateful. No way this song would have gotten any airtime in the south otherwise.


Do y'all remember how David Bowie didn't care for Gary Numan because he thought he was copying him? I can see it ... remember the video? Very Bowie. What a great video. I have automatic stop motion responses during this song to this day because of the video. You know what I'm talking about -- those whip cracking/hand-clapping sounds mean freeze frame, right? Like, make your best cheesy 80s melodramatic face and strike a pose for the camera. Do it.


Happy Saturday!




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page