top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Ladies Night, Kool and the Gang, 1979


My body and brain gave out super early last night -- I'm exhausted. I'm super excited to have zero plans today ... except getting caught up on my homework.


Oh my goodness I have so many good memories associated with this song. Growing up, it was everywhere. Kool and the Gang was a huge band in the early 80s, y'all. This song makes me think of the skating rink. It's an all skate. The majority of my elementary and junior high weekends were spent at the skating rink. Every night is Ladies Night.


It's funny, though, when I heard Ladies Night on my local radio station this past week, my mind went straight to Jon Lovitz. Yep. I can't hear this song without thinking about the Wedding Singer. Oh my goodness. Such a funny movie. Lovitz doing Ladies Night is crazy hilarious. I grabbed my air mic ... " mmmmm sophisticated mama."


Maybe I'll watch the Wedding Singer today.

Have a safe and happy fourth!






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page