top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Just a Girl, No Doubt, 1995


It's so difficult to come to terms with the world we're living in right now ... I feel so heavy.

Buckle up, this is going to get worse before it gets better. You know it's true ...

Smash the patriarchy.


These are all diversionary tactics ... it's like a magician's impressive sleight of hand. It's classic misdirection -- tapping into an emotional, ethical argument for or against abortion keeps everyone in Plato's cave. This is a patriarchal power play. Women deserve respect. Women are competent. Women can make their own decisions. Open your eyes -- see the real issue. Stop wasting time. Stop buying the rhetoric, it's a second front. Debating access to a medical procedure becomes moot if we all agree women are not less and can be trusted to make their own decisions.


It's not about viability. It's not a moral issue. It's not a political issue. It's a legal issue. Is the Roe verbiage outdated? Sure. Did the case at hand dictate Roe be overturned? Absolutely not. Restricting or denying access to a medical procedure for a non-universal part of the anatomy is discriminatory to the portion of the population with that anatomy. Discrimination is illegal.











Take this pink ribbon off my eyes

I'm exposed and it's no big surprise

Don't you think I know exactly where I stand?

This world is forcing me to hold your hand


'Cause I'm just a girl, oh, little old me

Well, don't let me out of your sight

Oh, I'm just a girl, all pretty and petite

So don't let me have any rights


Oh, I've had it up to here


The moment that I step outside

So many reasons for me to run and hide

I can't do the little things I hold so dear

'Cause it's all those little things that I fear


'Cause I'm just a girl, I'd rather not be

'Cause they won't let me drive late at night

Oh, I'm just a girl, guess I'm some kind of freak

'Cause they all sit and stare with their eyes

Oh, I'm just a girl, take a good look at me

Just your typical prototype


Oh, I've had it up to here


Oh, am I making myself clear?


I'm just a girl

I'm just a girl in the world

That's all that you'll let me be


Oh, I'm just a girl, living in captivity

Your rule of thumb makes me worrisome

Oh, I'm just a girl, what's my destiny?

What I've succumbed to is making me numb


Oh, I'm just a girl, my apologies

What I've become is so burdensome

Oh, I'm just a girl, lucky me

Twiddle-dum, there's no comparison


Oh, I've had it up to

Oh, I've had it up to

Oh, I've had it up to here




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page