top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Come Sail Away, Styx, 1977


I would say Styx is one of my guilty pleasures but that's just not entirely accurate. Is there anyone who doesn't like Styx? For those of us who grew up in the 70s/80s, Styx is just part of our soundtrack. I don't remember life without this song. It's not my favorite Styx song, though. Anyone wanna guess my favorite Styx song?


I absolutely adore this ridiculously epic song. It's one of those that is so theatrical ... it's like a two-act play -- it feels like two songs rolled into one. It's a showstopper. It demands my attention. Nothing else matters for those 4+ minutes. I know, seriously, four minutes? It is literally incessant and I am always sad when it's over. I am so goofy but when I heard it yesterday morning, at its conclusion, I said, "Until we meet again, my friend." I know ... it was a tough week, y'all.


Come Sail Away is an incredibly uplifting song. It exists to uplift -- that is its purpose. Bless it. It's pretty dang cheesy, too, but it doesn't even matter to me. This song is one of those rare (pop culture) circumstances where, "the cheesier, the better."


I love Styx. Thank you, universe, for reminding me.






5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page