top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Dance to the Music, Sly and the Family Stone, 1967


Listen, believe me when I say: Some truths in life are indisputable. Such as ... music is medicine. This song never fails to jerk me away from the grip of whatever temporary burden I've allowed to consume me. It takes one note, that's it. The cares of the world dissappear and I'm filled with joy. This song puts things into perspective for me and more importantly, it makes me smile.


My two favorite Sly albums live in my office/at work. They are never far out of my reach -- standing by ready to revive me. This is a no holds barred, smackdown, free-for-all dancing song, too. It's not uncommon for me to slap my own ass with my air tambourine. It never fails, too, there's this one point when I give in and just march around with my air trumpet.


You know, if I had to, I could start over again ... again. I could do a complete 180 and throw caution to the wind ... again. I'm perpetually financially challenged but if I had to, I could live with even less -- I learned a long time ago the true meaning of necessities. Music is a necessity. I can live without a lot but I can't live without music.


As long as I have Sly, everything's gonna be OK, y'all.







5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page