top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Mayonaise, Smashing Pumpkins, 1993


My youngest son is 26 today. Yeah, he's pretty amazing. There's a Rugrats episode about "who's the favorite" that makes me smile. Just saying ... what? No, of course I don't have a favorite son. Both my sons are so great. It is true though, Jared is my most favorite person in the world to spend time with ... let me tell you the story behind Today’s SOTD.


Several years ago, Billy Corgan was doing this neat 30-day tour of the country and came through the Shoals. He used social media to post songs along the way and stopped at the old Shoal Creek Bridge in Killen en route from Nashville to Muscle Shoals. He played Snail from Gish in front of the old bridge  and this led to a conversation with my youngest child about how the Smashing Pumpkins have so many great lesser known songs. In the course of that conversation, we realized we share the same favorite Pumpkins song -- Mayonaise. It was a really cool sort of proud moment for me. My heart grew three sizes that day. I'm the best mom of the best kid ever.


Happy birthday, Jared! To the moon and back.


https://youtu.be/s7-30i1f5e0


https://www.facebook.com/smashingpumpkins/videos/10155022493467642/


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page