top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



You Don't Own Me, Lesley Gore, 1963


This week, I changed my walk-up music to this song. The juxtaposition of the taunting sweetness with the defiance in her voice is pretty perfect. How she sounds is how I feel 90% of the time. I am a ferociously independent person and it is a daily challenge to accept that some things are out of my control. You don't own me.


Oh yeah, pay attention -- this is super important -- this song was written by two men. Yep. This version (the original release) is sung by Lesley Gore who was 17 at the time. 17, I say. Now that's some next level irony, y'all.


Speaking of control, I treated myself a bit and slept in a little this morning. Yeah ... that's not entirely true. As I get older, I continue to surrender to my body. Usually, like clockwork, my eyes pop open at 5 a.m. regardless of the day of the week or circumstances of the night before. This morning, it was 5:45 and it was actually somewhat unsettling.


PS: Anyone know where I heard this song this week? Who knows what I binged? I am Jordan Mooney at heart. I still kiss Sid goodnight, too.


Happy birthday to me!



https://youtu.be/JDUjeR01wnU

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page