top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Ruby Soho, Rancid, 1995


Oh. My. Goodness. I cannot get this song out of my head. At first, it kind of made me giggle at myself -- of all the songs in the world ... why this one, universe? This has been an all week thing now and it is not funny anymore. I've had enough of "destination unknown Ruby Ruby Ruby Ruby Soho" echoing in my brain.


It's so weird how even the mildest of punk rock songs -- such as this one -- can sow the seeds of discord. There is so much wrong in the world ... and it feels as if it has reached a tipping point. I am struggling to retain a shred of contentment. Maybe Ruby will just be with me from now on -- maybe it signifies my internal rebellion and perpetual unrest. Maybe contentment is no more.


Destination unknown. I kind of want to break something ... the status quo?


Here is the elephant in the room: The law(s) of the land -- the US Constitution and the Bill of Rights were not written for me. They were written by and for heterosexual white men. White men who currently only comprise 30% of the US population. Until these documents are revised to reflect true human equality, society will remain volatile because antiquated power structures are struggling to maintain invalid and unjustified control from positions of an actual minority.


It really is the great and powerful Oz phenomenon.




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page