top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Edge of Seventeen, Stevie Nicks, 1981


That opening riff is everything. Stevie's voice represents all that is unique, independent, and powerful. Not even this timeless anthem looping in my brain, though, can give me life this morning. I wish Stevie would update this coming of age classic to reflect those of us entering our twilight years. Maybe we call it "Edge of 51?" It's about aging, right? The milestones and owning who you are.


Every four or five weeks, I crash pretty hard. I get so run down that my body demands I slow down, recharge, and give in to extra sleep. I just feel exhausted -- mentally and physically. Once again, I'm simmering wondering how in the world I'm going to make it through this work day. I'm also wondering why ... why do I have to force myself to do this? It's all hauntingly familiar.


Just like the white-winged dove ...



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page