top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

If I Can't Have You, Yvonne Elliman, 1977


Hear that? That's me being transported to 1977 at the speed of light. When this song comes on, I grab my air mic and I launch into a twirl on my imaginary light-up dancefloor in my silk chiffon dress feeling superfly with my Dorothy Hamil hairdo and my yoyos. What some great lyrics, yall -- absolutely perfect flow with that timeless hook that connects with the human spirit. "If I can't have you, I don't want nobody, baby."


Who doesn't relate to this chorus? Maybe it conjures memories of a lost love. The one who got away ... Or maybe you're like me -- I can't help but think of the one that never was ... the one where the timing was never just quite right. This is my favorite line "to dreams that will never come true." She has the ethereal voice of an angel and that line still throws a knockout punch. Nice work, brothers Gibb.


Can we talk about the Bee Gees? Can we talk about Saturday Night Fever? Disco smisco ... I hate labels. This is a great song. It's magic. So simple.





https://youtu.be/CZVUzho-nok

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page