top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Rock the Boat, The Hues Corporation, 1973


As my parents age, they're more inclined to launch into storytelling mode on Sunday afternoons. It's super cool to hear stories from their youth. I struggle to recollect anything from my childhood. I wonder if my memories will magically return to me when I get to be in my 70s like them.


This song has always triggered a childhood memory for me. I'm not 100% certain it's an accurate memory but it's a memory nonetheless. I see a party when I hear this song. I see carefree 70s-style dancing -- I see my aunt holding me and dancing in a room full of people in my parents' den. I hear laughter -- this song makes me happy. I kind of love this song ...


Happy Monday!




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page